My First Solo Trip to South Korea: Day 2

FullSizeRender 21

Cherry Blossoms near KBS Hall

Day 2: Songdo Incheon, Yeouido, YG Entertainment, Hongdae, Sinchon 

On my second day of #SeoulSearching, I went to the Song Triplet’s turf in Songdo, Incheon. I know it sounds crazy, traveling by subway for 2 hours just to see a building where three little kids live. But hey, they were like sunshine on a gloomy Monday to me (They show Return of Superman in Korea every Sunday but the subbed version is posted every Monday. haha). And RoS is actually the only Korean show that both my brother and I watch❤.

It took me about 38 stations and a few transfers before I reached Incheon Central Park station. Songdo, Incheon has a more “community” and laid-back feel to it. There’s a vast space for children to play, animals like deer and rabbit, exercise equipment, picnic tables, and a lot more. I relived the triplets’ moments while I was there. I event went near their apartment complex and playground. Nakakaiyak! I super miss our Song triplets!

DSC_0582.JPG

Songdo Central Park apartments

FullSizeRender 90

Song Triplets’ Playground. Nasaan kayo Daehanie, Mingukie at Manseya?😀

FullSizeRender 108

Herd of deers in the middle of the park

After my short trip to Incheon, I went back to Seoul and headed straight to Yeouido to visit KBS and the National Assembly. I was so glad to see that the cherry blossoms were already in full bloom.

I was having fun taking photos and eating street food when I noticed that I already reached KBS Hall. I got lucky when there was an ongoing radio show and got to listen to a live performance. There was also a man singing and playing guitar in front of a small audience at the building’s steps. Kung wala sila dun sisigaw sana ako, “il bag i il! (trans: 1 night 2 days). Normally, 2D1N casts would start their show in this area.

I went in to take a tour and get to know more about KBS’s history as a broadcasting station – from their variety shows like Happy Together and 2 Days 1 Night to Kdramas like Boys Over Flowers and Endless Love to their public affairs shows and a lot more.

DSC_0618

KBS Mascot beside the KBS Hall

IMG_0352

With my 2D1N Barkada

FullSizeRender 113

A guy performing at the KBS hall steps

I left KBS after the free tour and continued walking until I reached the National Assembly building where more flowers were in full bloom. From time to time, I would see different flowers in huge pots adding color to the surrounding. Many families gathered at the open area/park to spend Saturday together. They even brought their children’s toys and picnic baskets. It was a beautiful day to walk around with a loved one. And yes, a lot of “Cherry Blossom Ending” in the background. Gusto kong sabayan yung kanta, “geudaeyeo geudaeyeo” haha  #ThemeSongofSpringinKorea

FullSizeRender 143

Street food sold in Yeouido

DSC_0649.JPG

National Assembly building

IMG_0652

From the front gate of the National Assembly

Later in the afternoon, I took the subway again to visit YG Entertainment. YG is located in Hapjeong, Mapo-gu far from the other agencies I visited on my first day. The building wasn’t that huge but the design was very “YG” Ha! I mean, full of swag, IMO. There were some fans also waiting in front of the building. But Dara and Bom were in Manila. And GD was in Jeju. TOP was also out of the country. And Taeyang was busy hanging out with Min Hyorin. #FangirlFeels

FullSizeRender 98

YG Entertainment (Current artists: Bigbang, 2ne1, PSY, Winner, IKON, etc)

FullSizeRender 39

Some fans waiting for their idols

My visit to YG was quick and I left after a few photos. Next on my itinerary was the Hongdae area. Before reaching Hongik University, I passed by Tablo’s label Highgrnd. I was tempted to go inside the building and check if there were any artists around or if Tablo was there. I wanted to personally congratulate him for managing his own label. Hay! My Kpop ‘journey’ started with Tablo and his version of Eyes, Nose, Lips. So much feels!

Opposite of Highgrnd was the old EatYourKimchi studio. I felt sad that the couple behind EYK already left Korea. I wasn’t even able to drop by and say ‘hi’ and ‘thank you’ for the very informative videos they created. Still, I am happy to know that they are taking on a new journey in Japan with EatYourSushi.

FullSizeRender 27

Tablo appa’s HIGHGRND (Current artists: Hyukoh, Code Kunst, The Black Skirts, Incredivle, etc)

FullSizeRender 126

Former EatYourKimchi studio. They’re in Japan now.

Right after the EYK building was an alley leading to the Hello Kitty Cafe. I just took a quick look around the cafe and the items they were selling including those sold in the bazaar. I was reminded of my younger days when Hello Kitty was my favorite character.

FullSizeRender 18

At the entrance of the cafe

FullSizeRender 110

Hongdae’s Hello Kitty Cafe

I walked around the neighborhood and followed the crowd until I reached the flea market. I was glad to be there on a Saturday when the flea market was usually held. Several entrepreneurs, students, and artists gathered to sell handmade items like postcards, painted caps and shoes, bags and wallets and even on-the-spot portraits. On the side, some stores were selling snacks like fruits and waffles.

FullSizeRender 60

People gathered around the flea market

FullSizeRender 28

Portraits by some Hongik University students just for 10,000won

FullSizeRender 87 (1)

Hand-painted caps

While I was leaving the crowd, I spotted a guy who seemed to be having a rap battle with his friends. Talk about Show Me The Money. Haha! I also sat for a bit and listened to a guy singing while playing his guitar. I soooo love his voice which was very similar to Busker Busker’s Jang Beom Jun.

I looked around the rest of Hongdae and passed by a few other street performances. Hongdae has a very youthful and lively atmosphere and it seemed like there were parties and gatherings everywhere. Well, it is famous for its clubs anyway. I didn’t look at the shops anymore but there were many shops selling clothes, bags, accessories and cosmetics very similar to those sold in Myeongdong.

FullSizeRender 74

Street performance beside the flea market

FullSizeRender 97

Hongik Univeristy

Next on my list of universities was the Ewha Womans University. Ewha is very popular for its campus complex which for me seemed like those houses in the Hobbit. Like they were carved under the hills. Inside the campus complex were different school amenities like coffee shop, gym, library and a lot more to make campus life more convenient.

IMG_6898

Ewha Womans University Campus Complex

FullSizeRender 84

Ewha – Parang Hogwarts or somewhere in Europe

Just few minutes away from Ewha is the Yonsei University. Yonsei is one Korea’s “SKY” universities along with Seoul National University and Korea University. It is one of the top universities in the country. And yes, it was the school featured in Reply 1994 and 1988. Many students were on their way home that time so I wasn’t able to take a good photo.

On my way to Yonsei, I also passed by a small tunnel well hidden beside the Megabox Mall. It is quite popular as the tunnel is covered with graffiti from beginning to end. I got lucky because only few people passed by while I was there.

FullSizeRender 48

Yonsei Cancer Center Building

IMG_6896

Graffiti tunnel beside Megabox

Similar to Hongdae, the crowd in Sinchon (Yonsei and Ewha) has a very youthful vibe. Most of the people I encountered were college students hanging out. The atmosphere was also lively with street performers playing guitar and piano. There were also a lot of shops in the area. Oh, how I miss my college days.😀

FullSizeRender 12

Busking along Sinchon

 

Leave a Reply

