Revisiting UP Diliman

Quezon Hall

Quezon Hall

Oblation

Oblation

Whenever I feel sad, down or confused, I always go back to the place I consider my second home and my little piece of heaven on earth – UP Diliman Campus.

For four years, this place molded me to become a smarter, more critical and independent version of myself. Four years after I graduated from the State U, I realized that while so many things have changed – new residence halls and buildings, more and more cars and students from more well-off families, some things definitely stayed the same. The warmth it brings inside whenever I walk around the campus and just observe the students, professors, drivers, vendors and passers-by that constitute everyday life in UP. The food that filled my stomach for 8 semesters are still present – monay with different fillings, ice cream, taho, banana cue and lumpia, Mang Larry’s isaw, Rodic’s tapsilog, the growing food stalls in Area 2, chocokiss and other restaurants at the Bahay ng Alumni. Eating them again brought back so many memories with batchmates, orgmates, classmates and friends. I was taken back to the days when I used to hop from one college library to another, wake up early and stay up late to wait for my thesis respondents at the gym or oval and when GE subjects have more requirements that my major subjects.

Acad Oval

Acad Oval

CAL

CAL

CAL Building

CAL Building

Tambayan

Tambayan

Faculty Center

Faculty Center

Between FC and AS

Between FC and AS

Palma Hall aka AS

Palma Hall aka AS

To the Main Lib

To the Main Lib

UPRISING

UPRISING

Sunken Garden and Main Library

Sunken Garden and Main Library

Mang Larry's Isaw, Ice Cream atbp

Mang Larry’s Isaw, Ice Cream atbp

Parish of the Holy Sacrifice

Parish of the Holy Sacrifice

New Residence Hall

New Residence Hall

Rodic's tapsilog at the Shopping Center

Rodic’s tapsilog at the Shopping Center

Athletic Oval

Athletic Oval

Carillion Tower

Carillion Tower

Jogging at Night

Jogging at Night

I thank UP for molding me to become a better version of myself. I thank UP for the friends I met that I know I will keep for the rest of my life. I thank UP for always opening its arms to cradle me whenever I feel like giving up. Thank you UP!

Leave a Reply

