My Korean Craze – TV Shows

If you asked me 2 years ago if I will ever write a blog about the Hallyu craze, I would have answered a resounding NO. But things have changed since then. Thanks to Sky Cable for including KBS in our channel line-up which allowed me discover a lot of incredible Korean television shows.

Here are some of my favorite Korean tv shows that have captured my attention and that drew me to become a huge fan of anything and everything Korean.

Running Man

This show was not actually introduced to me by KBS since it is shown by rival network SBS. It was my college friends who asked me to watch one episode with Jung Woo-sung, Junho(2PM), and Han Hyo-joo during one of our sleepovers. The show is a good mix of comedy, suspense and excitement with many Hallyu stars participating in every episode. I really like the themes they have each week – from the latest sporting events to the most recent movie and tv shows. They have missions to accomplish each episode and members may compete against each other or their guests. Plus factor of this show – I learned a lot of new games which I was able to use for different team activities.

Stars discovered: Yoo Jae-suk, Kim Jong-kook, Kang Gary, Haha, Ji Suk-jin, Song Ji-hyo, Lee Kwang-soo, Song Joong-ki

Favorite Episodes: Almost all the episodes made me laugh but my favorites are 104, 140 and 195

2 Days and 1 Night

This is kind of odd if you will take note that Running Man and 2 Days and 1 Night are shown on the same time slot every Sunday by SBS and KBS respectively. I just have to thank the avid fans for providing copies of previous episodes so that I can catch up especially with Running Man (I am lagging 150 episodes behind but I think I was able to watch almost 2/3 of them already). We don’t have SBS so I rely mostly on fan uploads while I was able to watch 2 Days and 1 Night on tv. I was lucky enough to watch the first episode of Season 3 with new casts joining the 2 remaining members. I love the humor they have while facing difficult and exciting challenges and I was able to see a lot of beautiful places in South Korea. Same with Running Man, I learned new games which I was able to utilize to have fun with friends.

Stars discovered: Cha Tae-hyun (Yes, you’re right the man from My Sassy Girl), Kim Jong-min, Kim Jun-ho, Defconn, Kim Joo-hyuk and Jung Joon-young (who lived for a while in the Philippines)

Favorite Episodes: Seollal Special, Backpacking Special

The Return of Superman

Who wouldn’t love some Father and Son/Daughter bonding? This show doesn’t have all the physical activities of the first 2 I mentioned above but it compensated with heaps of inspiration and love. I saw different celebrity fathers (Host, Actor, Athlete, Musician) learn how to take care of the children by doing duties mostly only the mothers would do like cooking, changing the diapers and taking the children out for a walk or an activity. It is where I also saw what they call, muk-bang or eating broadcast. Makes me hungry all the time.

Stars discovered: Tablo and Haru, Lee Hwi-jae and Seo-eon and Seo-jun, Choo Sung-hoon and Sarang and Jang Hyeong-seong and Junu and Junseo. (PS: The Jangs will be sorely missed.😦 )

Favorite Episodes: Ep 9 and 10

Happy Together

This show is a late night talk show with different guests and themes. I discovered a lot of other Hallyu stars from watching this show and made me realize that a lot of them are really very funny. I especially like the Late Night Cafeteria segment where the stars show a recipe they created which are good for late night snacks. This part actually made me hungry every time. It also deepen my love for Korean food especially ramyeon.

Stars discovered: Yoo Jae-suk (yes, him again. But it took me a few episodes to recognize that he was the same man I watched in Running Man. Totally different personalities shown in two different shows), Park Mi-sun, Shin Bong-sun, Park Myung-soo and Heo Gyeong-hwan (My flower boy. Haha) (Another PS: My flower boy Gyeong-hwan and Bong-sun will also be missed.)

There. I listed down some Korean tv shows. They are my personal favorites but I also watch other shows like Mamamia, Hello Counselor, Let’s Go Dream Team, Human Condition and Gag Concert to name a few. I fell in love with these shows because of the different excitement I felt, the new things I have learned from each shows, new personalities that I discovered and just for the endless laughs they provided. I am still in the midst of exploring other shows from channels like SBS and MBC so do watch out for my update.

As for my next Hallyu post, I will be writing about my favorite Korean acts (girl/boy groups).😀

 

Leave a Reply

