Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City

Breathtaking view from the balcony

Breathtaking view from the balcony

I was really burned out, literally and figuratively, with my life so I decided to have a quick weekend getaway. At first, I had Baguio and Calaguas in mind but since traveling to those places would require more time and energy, I decided to go to the next closest destination – Tagaytay City. I looked through a lot of hotels and resorts in Tagaytay using Tripadvisor that will not only offer me comfort and escape but as well as a magnificent view of the Taal lake all day. Most of the hotels that time were already fullybooked probably because it is the summer season. Good thing that when I looked at Taal Vista’s site, there were still available rooms on my planned date of stay. I immediately called the hotel and made a reservation.

Lobby Lounge

Lobby Lounge

Taal Vista is a bit pricey compared to the other hotels in the area.  But since I was really desperate to treat myself to a well-deserved weekend break, I did not hesitate to book a room. Minsan ko lang naman irereward ang sarili ko ng magandang hotel, lubus-lubusin ko na. You see, I am not really fond of booking high-end or boutique hotels. But because I really planned to just stay inside the hotel, cuddle on my bed, watch my favorite movie and forget the world for a while, I chose a hotel that will offer me all the comforts I need. (And I needed to prove the testament of most of the commenters on TripAdvisor. Haha!)

TAAL VISTA HOTEL – May 17-18, 2014

Bedroom

I booked a Deluxe Ridge room with 1 king size bed and 1 single bed. The king size bed is huge enough for 3 people. The room is simple and void of too much decorations and accessories but still looks elegant, homey and first class. I especially like the beds because there are plenty of pillows (there’s even an extra pillow in the cabinet🙂 ).

There are two bedside lamps just enough to lighten the room at night when guests are not comfortable sleeping in the darkness. The telephone has a small directory beside it which indicates the important numbers in the hotel and a directory of the province of Cavite. The room attendant has a special note as well stating that he/she is ready to assist you anytime.

1 King Bed and 1 Single Bed

1 King Bed and 1 Single Bed

Bedside lamp, drawer and telephone

Bedside lamp, drawer and telephone

Bathroom

This is my second favorite spot in the room. The bathroom is spacious, clean, complete with all the toiletries that guests will need and it has a bathtub. Yehey! I originally planned to use the hotel’s swimming pool but decided to just soak in the bathtub for an hour. Nothing beats a hot bath after a tiring day.

The bathtub, shower and sink are all equipped with hot and cold water. So that’s really a plus for a group of people with different preferences. The bathroom mirror is huge and there an additional small mirror and lamp for those who want to put make up on with a proper lighting. And did I forget to mention the hairdryer? I particularly like drying my hair since it gets sticky because of too much heat outside. A+ for that.

Because the trip was so spontaneous, I forgot to bring my own toiletries like soap, shampoo and toothpaste. Good thing that Taal Vista provides all of these for free. There are still a lot of them when we left the hotel.🙂

Bathroom sink with dryer

Bathroom sink with dryer

Bathtub. Yehey!

Bathtub. Yehey!

Comfy Toilet

Comfy Toilet

C504E9D1-3BDF-49DF-ADB6-8ED22FD99050

Free toiletries

Other Amenities

Aside from my two favorites, the make up desk also caught my attention. It has a small folder with basic information about the hotel’s amenities and other places to visit in Tagaytay. There’s also a survey form for the guests to fill in. I particularly like staying at this spot before we left. Feeling studious lang. Hehe

There is also a flat screen tv on the wall with many cable channels. Since internet connection gets crappy at times, having the TV as a backup is really nice.

I think I should not fail to mention the room’s “walk-in” closet with huge mirrors. It has plenty of space for the guests bags and valuables. This type of closet is very useful for those planning to stay at the hotel for a longer time.

Study Desk with huge mirror

Study Desk with huge mirror

Cable TV

Cable TV

Safe and Closet

Safe and Closet

Fridge/Mini Bar

I was impressed when I saw the mini bar inside the room. It is hot outside and the best way to relieve that is by drinking ice-cold water or soda. The mini bar is full with some iced tea, beer, pineapple juice and softdrinks. For free? Unfortunately not. There’s a price list on top of the mini bar so you’ll know how much each of the items are. The snacks are also not for free. But if you do not want to go out or when you get hungry at night, it is really convenient. What’s for free? Coffee and 2 bottles of water.🙂

Complimentary Coffee

Complimentary Coffee

Mini Bar

Mini Bar

Balcony

The balcony is my third favorite place in the room. I actually thought that the ridge view will only offer us a view of just-the-mountains. But I was surprised when we opened the huge glass door – there it was, the Taal Volcano waiting in all its glory and all for our eyes for feast upon. I just told myslef, this is the view I want to wake up with every morning – serene, relaxing and full of promise.

The plus factor of the balcony is that it has chairs and table where guests can have their meals. The divider can also be used as a bench and it is very easy to leap from it to bask under the sun, enjoy a closer view of the lake and look around the ‘neighborhood’.

Balcony

Balcony

Huge glass door

Huge glass door

Dining

Some of my friends said that the breakfast buffet at Taal Vista is really delicious. But just so you know, I am not a breakfast person. I usually do not eat breakfast before going to work. So I decided to skip the buffet breakfast and just tried a la carte dinner.

We dined at the hotel’s main dining area. Since it was already late at night, there were only a few number of guests eating. I ordered one of their best sellers – sizzling bulalo.

Buffet rates vary depending if it is breakfast, lunch or dinner and if it’s on weekday or weekend. Average ala carte meal for 2 is Php1,000.00.

Sizzling Bulalo? Yummers!

Sizzling Bulalo? Yummers!

Inside Cafe Veranda

Inside Cafe Veranda

Lounge

I personally think that in hotels, just like in people, first impressions lasts. So whatever the guests will see at the lobby or facade of the hotel has a big impact on their impression. And Taal Vista did not disappoint. I really liked the calm ambience of the Lobby Lounge especially the exquisitely designed chairs and the grand piano in the middle. Guests can enjoy the view of the lake while having a light meal and Beethoven in the background.

Aside from the hotel’s guests, other visitors can also enjoy some of the hotel’s amenities for a minimal amount.

Lobby lounge

Lobby lounge

Lobby Lounge

Lobby Lounge

Facilities

What I like the most about Taal Vista is that it has complete amenities. The wi-fi has strong signal anywhere at the hotel. There are many function rooms for big and small events. The garden outside can also be used to host parties and ceremonies like weddings. It has a game room with billiards and darts, a children’s play area,  swimming pool and gym room. There’s plenty of space to visit or just sit down and relax. During our visit, they even had a film showing (Jurassic Park) outside. Cool air, nice view and comfy grass while watching a movie under the vast night sky. Awesomeness to th next level.

I read somewhere that SM owns part of this hotel. This may be the reason why there is a BDO ATM and Kultura Filipino shop located inside the hotel. Also BDO had a discount offer for SM advantage card holders who are planning to stay at Taal Vista.

There was a wedding here earlier

There was a wedding here earlier

Wedding with a view

Wedding with a view

Afternoon view

Afternoon view

Staff Service

The staff of Taal Vista are all very nice and accommodating. Everyone from the guards, bell boys, concierge and room attendants keep on greeting us and are always pleasant and with a smile. They happily helped us with our things and served us refreshments upon check-in. The concierge are especially nice because they gave us free room extension since our check in was a bit late.

Overall, my experience at Taal Vista was one of the best so far when it comes to hotel service. I would really recommend this to my friends and to future travelers out there.

 

Taal Vista Hotel

Kilometer 60, Aguinaldo Highway
Tagaytay City 4120, Philippines
Telephone No: +63 (2) 917-8225 | +63 (46) 413-1000
Mobile No: +63 (917) 809-1254
Fax No: +63 (46) 413-1225 http://www.taalvistahotel.com

 

2 thoughts on “Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City

  1. Hi. Thank you for this blog. Would you know how to get there from Pedro Gil Taft- Manila?
    We’re planning to go there on Friday Via Bus.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

