Harry Potter Exhibition @ ArtScience Museum, Singapore

Posing at the Dedication wall for Harry's Birthday

Posing at the Dedication wall for Harry’s Birthday

Last July 30, 2012, I met Harry Potter. Just kidding! I just had a once in a lifetime chance of seeing the props and set designs that were used in creating the Harry Potter movies.

My flight to Singapore was booked almost one year before the trip. The original plan was only to visit some popular tourist spots, meet friends that were already based in SG and try local food. However, several months before the trip, we received a great news. The Harry Potter Exhibition in New York is going on a tour – and one of it’s stopovers is Singapore! As if by some stroke of God’s hands, he allowed us to be in Singapore on the same month that the exhibition will be there.

My friends and I who were Harry Potter fans were very ecstatic when we heard about the news. We were very worried at first because there might be a huge number of people visiting the exhibition and we might not get a chance to reserve tickets. So we monitored Marina Bay’s announcements on ticket sales almost everyday. Two days after the reservation opened, we booked our slot.

Floor design

Floor design

Fast forward to July 30. I was really excited to see the exhibition. And when we arrived at the ArtScience Museum, I wanted to cry and I had goosebumps. It felt like I was going to be transported to the real Wizarding World.

The tour started at 10:00 am. We were joined by other tourists. Since taking pictures was not allowed inside, we just took photos with the Flying Ford Anglia and HP movie posters. I really can’t explain my feelings when we entered the room. We had the chance to experience the props that they used like the mandrakes and quidditch. The wands, ball costumes, and broomsticks were there along with so many other props and sets designs.

Flying Ford Anglia

Flying Ford Anglia

Exhibit entrance hologram

Exhibit entrance hologram

Movie posters

Movie posters

The last stop of the exhibition was the souvenir shop. This was also the place I really enjoyed the most. There were a lot of souvenir items like the wands of Harry, Ginny and Ron, the Marauder’s map, Sirius’ wanted poster, Ginny’s time turner necklace, scarves of the four houses of Hogwarts, mugs, tshirts, notebooks, chocolate frogs and every flavour beans. Because my budget is very limited, I just bought 2 chocolate frogs, 3 Bertie Bott’s beans, and one Harry Potter wand pen with bookmark.

My Pasalubongs

My Pasalubongs

Before we left the exhibition, we were able to write dedications for Harry Potter’s birthday on July 31.

My personal greeting for Harry

My personal greeting for Harry

Birthday Greetings for Harry

Birthday Greetings for Harry

It was really magical inside. And as a huge fan of Harry Potter, seeing how the book transformed into movies and developed through time was really amazing.

Expenses:

Exhibition ticket: S$21 + S$3 booking fee

Chocolate frogs: S$6

Bertie Bott’s Every Flavour beans: S$6

Wand Pen: S$10-15 (I already forgot. But this is the approximate price)

5 thoughts on “Harry Potter Exhibition @ ArtScience Museum, Singapore

  1. Pingback: Day 4: Marina Bay Sands and Bugis Street | backpackingwithmishi

Leave a Reply

